I discovered a fascinating fact recently, one that in all honesty, I should have thought about before. A simple moment of sitting and looking at facts would have led me to this much faster than 29 years and a documentary!

I found that humans are the only animals that drink milk as adults. What is more, is that we are the only animals that drink another animal’s milk. That one was a step too far for me and I quickly called my immediate family to ask them to switch from Cow’s milk to other sources. An interesting study I had found, mocked the myth that Cow’s milk is the best source of Calcium. I remember adverts from the 80’s telling me that Cow’s milk would give me stronger bones….It is actually quite harmful. cow-milk

Research from Sweden found that women who drank three glasses of milk a day had higher levels of bone fractures than women who didn’t drink Cow’s milk. Some other studies I had found linked Cow’s milk with Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes and various types of Cancer in humans. Upon reflection of the fact that it is not something that should be natural for humans to drink, it is no wonder that more and more people are being reported lactose intolerant, and that milk is becoming one of the most reported food allergens in the world. It is not something our bodies are designed to digest.

Putting the health issues aside, I also spent a large amount of my week trying my best to understand the process of collecting cow’s milk and what happens in the factory, then imagining the hormones in my night-time glass….I will leave that there…..

What I found most interesting was that there is a range of research finding that other dairy products such as cheese and yogurt did not have the same effects on the body. It seems to some extent, that’s safe…..though please feel free to send research my way.

So here are some other sources of calcium that I read up on, and may be useful to you. Please note, I am by far no expert on food, nor nutrition, nor anything healthy….this is a simple list of things I have turned to in the hope my bones don’t snap for following science and cutting Cow’s milk! Unfortunately, I find the items on this list highly unpleasant!

  • Kale
  • White beans
  • Bok Choy
  • Almonds
  • Dried figs
  • Black-eyed peas
  • Soy milk
  • Iceberg Lettuce
  • Orange Juice (Thankfully!)

Needless to say, I have switched, (To Soya milk. I am not a huge fan of Almond nor Coconut Milk, which is unfortunate as Soya is the most expensive!) and urge you to do the same.

And a quick thank you to the Spirit Science team for potentially saving our lives!

Leave a Reply

